Review: Esther: Royal Beauty

Angela Hunt - Esther - Royal Beauty (A Dangerous Beauty Novel #1)Title: Esther: Royal Beauty

Author: Angela Hunt

Series: A Dangerous Beauty Novel #1

Pages: 352

ISBN: 978-0-7642-1695-4

Genre: FICT, Biblical Fiction

Short Book Description:

When an ambitious tyrant threatens genocide against the Jews, an inexperienced young queen must take a stand for her people.

When Xerxes, king of Persia, issues a call for beautiful young women, Hadassah, a Jewish orphan living in Susa, is forcibly taken to the palace of the pagan ruler. After months of preparation, the girl known to the Persians as Esther wins the king’s heart and a queen’s crown. But because her situation is uncertain, she keeps her ethnic identity a secret until she learns that an evil and ambitious man has won the king’s permission to exterminate all Jews–young and old, powerful and helpless. Purposely violating an ancient Persian law, she risks her life in order to save her people…and bind her husband’s heart.

My Thoughts:

The story of Esther has always been my favorite bible story since I was a little girl, so I was extremely excited when this book came out. Though it was a tad bit different than any of the other stories I had read before, I found myself unable to put it down and finished it within about a day and a half.

It took a bit for me to get into the story at the beginning, but once I was into the flow of the book and the two viewpoints, Esther’s and Xerxes’ chamberlain Harbonah’s, I couldn’t stop reading.

I’ve read one other book by Angela Hunt, Magdalene, and now I can’t wait to get my hands on more of her books. You can trust her books to stay as close to the Biblical version as possible, which I really like. I hate it when people take a character out of the Bible and give them a completely fictionalized story.

This is one book I will definitely recommend to my friends and family that are in search of not just a historical novel, but a Biblical based one filled with facts from the Bible.

Other books in this series:

Click below to purchase this book at your desired location:

ChristianBook.com

Amazon.com

Amazon.ca

Barnes & Noble

Chapters.Indigo.ca

“Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group”.

Posted on January 22, 2015, in Biblical Fiction, FICT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What is your opinion?

