Review: Playing by Heart

Anne Mateer - Playing by HeartTitle: Playing by Heart

Author: Anne Mateer

Series:

Pages: 320

ISBN: 978-0-7642-1065-5

Genre: FICT, Historical Fiction

Short Book Description:

Lula Bowman has finally achieved her dream: a teaching position and a scholarship to continue her college education in mathematics. But then a shocking phone call from her sister, Jewel, changes everything.

With a heavy heart, Lula returns to her Oklahoma hometown to do right by her sister, but the only teaching job available in Dunn is combination music instructor/basketball coach. Lula doesn’t even consider those real subjects!

Determined to prove herself, Lula commits to covering the job for the rest of the school year. Reluctantly, she turns to the boys’ coach, Chet, to learn the newfangled game of basketball. Chet is handsome and single, but Lula has no plans to fall for a local boy. She’s returning to college and her scholarship as soon as she gets Jewel back on her feet.

However, the more time she spends around Jewel’s family, the girls’ basketball team, music classes, and Chet, the more Lula comes to realize what she’s given up in her single-minded pursuit of degree after degree. God is working on her heart, and her future is starting to look a lot different than she’d expected.

My Thoughts:

This is my first book by Anne Mateer and I have to say I’m hooked. I’ve never read a book/novel that is based around a sport like this one is. For a person that doesn’t care for sports and has a phobia of sports balls coming towards her, I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I did.

I can’t wait to get my hands on Anne’s other books now. Especially since this one was really well thought out and written, not just written to make some money. The writing style was really captivating for me it had me hooked write from the first page. Now to get my hands on Anne’s other books and see if I like them as much as I did this one.

It isn’t your typical romance book either since the main characters at first didn’t even know who the other was and weren’t interested in each other.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a good Christian romance novel.

Other books in this series:

Click below to purchase this book at your desired location:

ChristianBook.com

Amazon.com

Amazon.ca

Barnes & Noble

Chapters.Indigo.ca

“Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group”.

Posted on October 16, 2014, in FICT, Historical Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What is your opinion?

