Review: The River

Beverly Lewis - The RiverTitle:  The River

Author: Beverly Lewis

Series:

Pages: 320

ISBN: 978-0-7642-1245-1

Genre: FICT, Contemporary Fiction

Short Book Description:

She looked once more at the dreaded river. Since Anna’s death, it had been such a barrier . . . a place and a moment she could not seem to move past.
           
A line I can’t move beyond…
The River

Tilly and Ruth, two formerly Amish sisters, are plagued by unresolved relationships when they reluctantly return to Lancaster County for their parents’ landmark wedding anniversary. Since departing their Plain upbringing, Tilly has married an Englisher, but Ruth remains single and hasn’t entirely forgotten her failed courtship with her Amish beau.

Past meets present as Tilly and Ruth yearn for acceptance and redemption. Can they face the future in the light of a past they can’t undo?

My Thoughts:

I absolutely loved this book. It had so much feeling and emotion written in between the pages, it was impossible to put down even for just a few minutes.

My favorite character would have to be Tilly, she was strong and most of all forgiving, the things she went through as a child and then to find out the biggest secret of all would be too much for me I think.

Beverly Lewis has for the longest time been my favorite author. I think her books were the first ones I picked up when I got to the adult books and ever since then I try to get my hands on every single book of hers.

This story was really well written despite the short time frame that it was placed in, 2 weeks I believe. I haven’t often read a book that turns out really well when the story only takes place in such a short time frame.

The only thing I was quite disappointed in was that there was absolutely no hint of a sequel for Ruth. I hope that there will be and I can’t wait to read the next book by Beverly Lewis.

Other books in this series:

Click below to purchase this book at your desired location:

ChristianBook.com

Amazon.com

Amazon.ca

Barnes & Noble

Chapters.Indigo.ca

“Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group”.

Posted on September 24, 2014, in Contemporary Fiction, FICT and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What is your opinion?

