Review: Pilgrimage

PilgrimageTitle: Pilgrimage

Author: Lynn Austin

Series:

Pages: 240

ISBN: 978-0-7642-1118-8

Genre: CLBG, Christian Living

Short Book Description:

We all encounter times when our spirit feels dry, when doubt looms.

The opportunity to tour Israel came at a good time. For months, my life has been a mindless plodding through necessary routine, as monotonous as an all-night shift on an assembly line. Life gets that way sometimes, when nothing specific is wrong but the world around us seems drained of color. Even my weekly worship experiences and daily quiet times with God have felt as dry and stale as last year’s crackers. I’m ashamed to confess the malaise I’ve felt. I have been given so much. Shouldn’t a Christian’s life be an abundant one, as exciting as Christmas morning, as joyful as Easter Sunday?

With gripping honesty, Lynn Austin pens her struggles with spiritual dryness in a season of loss and unwanted change. Tracing her travels throughout Israel, Austin seamlessly weaves events and insights from the Word . . . and in doing so finds a renewed passion for prayer and encouragement for her spirit, now full of life and hope.

My Thoughts:

Though this book is written by a very good author, I just couldn’t get myself to finish it. Books based on personal life experiences are good, but just nor for me. If I’m gonna read a non-fiction book, it’ll be a biography not a Christian living or autobiography book.

That being said, it is a really good book from what I did manage to read, about half, it is deep and thought provoking. I was challenged to look deep inside myself and ask “Is my life really a blessing to others around me? Do I live like Jesus told us to in the New Testament of the Bible? Do I show/tell people that my life is not my own but God’s and whatever I do I do for Him?”

If you decide to read this book and finish it, like I hope to one day, I hope you are inspired as well to live a deeper walk with Jesus our Saviour.

Other books in this series:

Click below to purchase this book at your desired location:

ChristianBooks.com

Amazon.com

Amazon.ca

Barnes & Noble

Indigo.ca

“Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group”.

Posted on December 25, 2013, in Christian Living, CLBG and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What is your opinion?

