Review: Finding Anna

Title: Finding Anna

Author: Christine Schaub

Series: Music of the Heart

Pages: 320

ISBN: 978-0-7642-0059-5

Book Description:

A powerful historical drama based on the story behind the hymn ‘It Is Well With My Soul.’ “Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say; It is well, it is well with my soul….” How can a man who has lost so much write such words? After suffering enormous losses in the Chicago fire of 1871, and terrific strain in his marriage afterward, Horatio Spafford plans a European holiday with his wife and four little girls. But before they can board the SS Ville du Havre in New York, Spafford receives a telegram that will delay his crossing and change his life forever. When tragedy brings him to his knees, Spafford writes a poem on the back of a telegram–words that have become a hymn of hope for millions facing sorrow.

My Thoughts:

Where to begin with a novel like this…

The Story of Horatio Gates Spafford, the writer of one of the most loved hymns in America, “It Is Well With My Soul” (When Peace Like a River).

The book begins with the great Chicago Fire. Gates (as he is referred to in the book) and his wife Anna and their four daughters work to pick their lives back up. Not long after Gates puts his wife and daughters set for Europe.

A few days into the journey their ship gets struck by a bigger one. Only Anna survives.

From these tragedies comes a well known and loved Hymn, one written during an hour of anguish and pain.

If you would like to purchase this book click here.

Posted on June 1, 2012, in Fiction, Historical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. wohh precisely what I was searching for, thankyou for putting up.

    Like

  2. Aw, this is quite a nice post. In concept I’ve to put in spot writing such as this furthermore – taking time and actual effort to produce a genuinely excellent article… but so what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no indicates manage to get something done.

    Like

  3. I am normally to blogging and i also truly appreciate your articles. This fantastic write-up has truly peaks my interest. My goal is to bookmark your weblog and sustain checking for brand new details.

    Like

  4. I’m often to blogging and i truly appreciate your web site content continuously. The post has truly peaks my interest. Let me bookmark your blog and maintain checking choosing data.

    Like

  5. I just want to mention I am beginner to blogging and site-building and certainly liked you’re blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have amazing stories. Kudos for sharing with us your web site.

    Like

  6. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and all. But just imagine if you added some great graphics or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this website could undeniably be one of the greatest in its field. Very good blog!

    Like

What is your opinion?

