Review: Millie’s Unsettled Season

Title: Millie’s Unsettled Season

Author: Martha Finley

Series: Millie Keith: A Life of Faith; Book 1


ISBN: 978-1-928749-41-7

Ages: 9-12

Book Description:

“Oh, Aunt Wealthy,” Millie cried, as Wealthy’s boot touched solid ground, “It’s decided!” “My child, what is it?” asked the older lady, dropping the letter to take the girl’s hand and draw her to the sofa, “What is decided?” Millie spoke with a determined effort to be calm. “This morning, at breakfast, Pappa told us children, I mean he and Mamma had talked it over last night, and you know they have been praying about it, and . . . “And?” asked Aunt Wealthy as she clasped Millie’s hand to her heart. “We are going to move . . . to . . . to . . . Pleasant Plains, Indiana,” replied Millie. “The frontier!” Wealthy gasped, sinking back on the couch.

Meet Millie Keith, a bright and energetic twelve-year-old living in the charming town of Lansdale, Ohio, in 1833. Her world is about to be turned upside down when her Pappa announces that he is moving the family west to an undeveloped town on the frontier. The eldest daughter of eight lively children, Millie must shoulder responsibility for her mischievous brothers and sisters on the perilous journey and learn to trust God for her uncertain future. Will her Christian faith sustain her as she leaves behind friendships and everything she has ever known?

My Thoughts:

A really interesting book for young girls to read. The book focuses on good and bad characteristics. The Christian examples and characters are awesome. The focus isn’t on just the good points, the author also lets the focus roam to the one’s in Millie’s life. A good fictionalized historically accurate book that is good for any aged girl to read. Not only girls but their parents also.


Posted on April 1, 2012, in Fiction, Historical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I read the entire series as well as the Elsie books. I think the Millie books were better. The Violet Travilla books were a bit more slow.


  2. I read the first six books in the original collector’s edition of the Elsie Dinsmore series.


  3. You must take part in a contest for among the top blogs on the web. I will suggest this internet web site!


  4. Some times its a pain to read what blog owners wrote but this internet site is actually user genial ! .


  5. I just want to say I am newbie to blogging and really loved you’re web-site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You surely come with fabulous articles and reviews. Bless you for sharing with us your web page.


  6. Howdy very cool site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionallyKI am happy to find numerous helpful information here in the publish, we’d like develop extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .


What is your opinion?

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: